Let the Insanity Begin!

10 Jul

Quick Recap – I am a 35 year old average guy.  I have a wife, two kids, and I run my own small business.  In February 2012 I weighed in at my heaviest ever… 221 lbs!  Since then, I’ve dropped 43 lbs and got in the best shape of my life through proper nutrition and exercise!  I did Power 90, then P90X – both programs offered by Beachbody.  I have been so happy with my results and how I’ve transformed my life, I became a coach!  Yesterday, I swapped out my final week of P90X (the recovery week), for Insanity.

For those not familiar with Insanity, it is a 6 day per week, 63 day program focused on cardio and core training developed by Beachbody (makers of P90x).  Workouts are 40-50 minutes in length and they use a training concept called “Max Interval Training”.  In laymans terms, this means you work your butt off for very intense bursts, then have a short 30 seconds to catch your breath, and then repeat.  The idea is that you get your heart rate very high, and keep it there mostly over the course of the workout and this: 1) cuts down on having to do very long periods of low/moderate intensity cardio, and 2) gives you an unbelievable workout in far under 1 hour.

I’ve done the first two routines so far.  Cardio Plyo Circuit, and Cardio Power Resistance.  My initial thoughts: HOLY CRAP IS THIS HARD! I may not be a pro athlete, but having completed Power 90 and P90x I am by far in the best shape of my life.  Despite my relatively high level of fitness at the moment, Insanity is kicking my rear end!  While P90X focused more on strength training, Insanity is very much focused on high intensity cardio.  The closest thing P90X has to Insanity workouts is Plyometrics, but I am finding the Insanity version to be much more difficult.  Second, the workouts are so fast paced and intense, they go by in a flash.  They are much shorter than the base P90X workouts in terms of real time (40 minutes in the first month compared to 70+ minutes if you include Ab Ripper X in P90X), and you jump from one exercise to the next, so you feel like the workout is over very quickly.  Third, this is THE workout if you want to get ripped!  I did Insanity now specifically for this reason.  Shed the last 5% or so body fat that I want to come off, and I can’t imagine Insanity won’t get me there (with proper nutrition of course).  I was literally dripping sweat after both workouts!  I was breathing so hard I couldn’t even think about talking.  These are HUGE cardio workouts with an obvious fat-melting effect.

A note on Insanity nutrition – The program does have its own nutrition guide.  Basically, it is very similar to P90X.  I’m basically following my P90X nutrition plan with slight modifications.  I’m keeping a 45-55% daily carbohydrate, 30% protein, 20% fat mix.  I’m dropping my calories down to the 1800-2000 range daily as I want to shed the last few pounds of body fat.  YOU MUST EAT CLEAN AND FOLLOW A PROPER NUTRITION PLAN IF YOU ARE EXPECTING RESULTS! Doing your “own thing” will not yield results as good or better than following the plans outlined by Beachbody!

Leave a Reply

