Day 45 – HALF WAY THERE!

19 Mar

This will be a mid week update as today is significant because it marks the half way point in my Power 90 journey!

This morning, I weighed in at 197.9… That is the lowest I’ve been in at least 5 years!  I’m down a total of 22.1 lbs since I started 45 days ago!  This really exceeded my expectation!  I’m also excited because my weight loss flattened out a bit a few weeks back, but since I’ve switched to the more rigorous 3-4 level workouts in Power 90, the last few weeks my weekly weight loss average has improved!  I estimated that I’m losing a little over 2.5 lbs per week right now.  If I keep that up for the next 6.5 weeks, I could get down to the low 180s by the time I’m done with Power 90!

My attitude towards this program continues to be one of the best parts!  I have only felt like not working out once!  Just one day out of 45!  I’m honestly giving 90-100% efforts each time I’m working out too.  My new weigh in, combined with other progress to date, really makes me feel like I’ve got the motivation to not just finish the program, but really make fitness part of my lifestyle from now on!

Today I’ll do my Circuit 3-4 workout.  I continue to slowly add reps and/or weight to most exercises… less so than I would have thought for many movements though.  I think limiting my calories in order to lose body fat probably limits my strength building ability.  That said, fat loss is the main goal so I’m not worried about it.  I’m feeling much stronger in the push up moves.  I’m now up to 18 push ups in the first set (from 10 on day one).  In addition, I can do a lot more push ups in the later sets!  I have less muscle fatigue as the workouts go on.  In 7-7-7, I had to do the whole thing on my knees when I started – now, I do all the wide push ups normally, 5 of the narrow push ups normally, and only then do I have to go to my knees.  In the final bonus round, I can do 18 push ups, and I feel like I can do them more easily than in the first set!  I’m really interested to do the fitness test before P90X to see what my MAX will be!

My nutrition continues to be very clean.  I’m eating 4-5 times a day, and I continue to do Shakeology.  My breakfast is the “big” meal of the day, and my dinner is usually a serving of lean protein with some type of steamed veggie.  I’ve said before that I’m not a guy who gets lots of cravings, so that has made things a LOT easier.  My wife has struggled a bit with her sweet tooth and the temptations, but she is overall doing great!  Not craving that kind of stuff helps though!

I’m very, very excited about starting P90X!

Leave a Reply

