Week 6 – Chugging Ahead!

15 Mar

As f last night,ay 40!  I’m still going strong and I’m not deviating from my workouts and nutrition.

Around Day 36 or 37, I had my first not-motivated day.  I pushed play, and while I did not give the workout a 100%, I got through it.

My mid week weigh-in put me at 200.3 lbs.  I can’t remember being this weight for some time.  I think I went from the high 180s, to the 205+ mark pretty fast and easily, and then slowly got to 220 from there.  Now, I’m really excited/hoping/motivated to step on the scale and see a 19x number.  I’m hoping that I can get there on my Sunday morning weigh in… we’ll see!

My wife has started to do Power 90 with me.  We like working out together, and she gets more easily motivated knowing we are doing it together.  This week, we did about half the workouts together which was fun.

I did a 40 day measurement last night after my Circuit 3-4.  I’m down 1 more inch on my chest, and 1 more inch on my waist.  My hips, arms and legs have stayed the same, but I’m fine with that.  Cosmetically, I’m seeing more of a change.  I got out of the shower the other day and noticed the faintest outlines of stomach muscles!  FAR from the six pack I’m striving for, but when you can visually notice a difference, that is hugely motivating!  I’m also noticing more muscle definition in my arms.  I’m really regretting not taking Day 1 photos now for comparison, but I’m not going to sweat it.

My nutrition is staying really tight.  No cheating, measuring everything, and still eating a low carb, high lean protein and veggie diet.  While I’m still using Weight Watchers, I’ve decided to transition to a new iPhone app called myfitnesspal.  It works much like the Weight Watchers program, but it is better in my opinion.  First, it costs $2.99 to download and own vs. $20+ per month for weight watchers. Second, it tracks calories vs. “points” which is a more accurate way to achieve your goals (creating a calorie deficit if trying to lose fat, and a calorie surplus if trying to add muscle mass). Third, it has a bar code scanner which is very cool.  You can simply scan the bar code on your food at home and the app will find the product in the database!  There are some other features I haven’t played with, but on balance, it is as good as the Weight Watchers app, but cheaper and with additional useful features.  I highly recommend it to anybody serious about gaining/losing weight.

I also continue to use Shakeology.  I’ve been doing it pretty much since I started Power 90.  The chocolate flavor is delicious!  You can also mix it with things to vary the flavor (I recommend a tablespoon of peanut butter!), to avoid getting bored with it.  While expensive, I do feel like I have more energy, and my results have been very solid to date.  How much it plays into that, I don’t know, but for now everything is working so I’m not changing!  I am getting a sample of the new tropical flavor, and if I like it, I’ll be ordering that to alternate with my chocolate.

As I near the half way mark, I find that I’m as motivated as ever to crush this program and move onto P90X!  I’m SOOO happy that I’ve made the committment to changing my lifestyle and getting more fit!  Now that I’m through the first couple of weeks, and each week that goes by I’m seeing the small changes add up, my belief in my ability to succeed is growing!  For the first time, I’m going to put my goals down on paper.  I’ve avoided being too specific until now, because my targets are pretty lofty.  Now that I’m feeling confident in my ability to execute, I’m willing to put them out “publicly”. I don’t know if I’ll get to where I want to be with just one round of P90x, and if I had to guess I’d say I won’t, but I’ll do what it takes!

GOALS:

1) Six Pack Abs! – psychologically, I’ve always wanted to be cut enough to have the washboard stomach.  I think to get there, I’ll need to be below 12% body fat.  I’d like to get really “ripped”, so my goal is going to be 8%.

2) Do 20 Pull Ups – Way back in college, I trained for the Marine Corps officer program.  I didn’t go in, but I was introduced to the Marine Corp fitness test.  In order to max out the pull up portion of the program, you needed to do 20 good form pull ups.  Mentally, my feeling is if 20 pull ups makes you a bad ass in the Marine’s, 20 as a civilian is crazy extreme!

3) Look Good – once upon a time, I was approached by a modeling agent who wanted me to get photos, etc. and consider a career in the field.  While I don’t consider myself “vain”, I can’t say that it didn’t feel good to get looks and attention from the opposite sex either!  Having felt “fat” and knowing that I don’t look good anymore, I’d love to be at a point where I can put things on and regain confidence in the way that I look.

One Response to “Week 6 – Chugging Ahead!”

  1. onefittwofit March 15, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    Congrats! Nothing is more satisfying than setting goals for yourself and actually seeing the results. Keep up the awesome work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

