DAY 30 – I’m back!

5 Mar

I’ve been delinquent on updates for the past 2.5 weeks.  I did NOT give up on the program, I just gave up on blogging about it!

Yesterday, I completed my Day 30 Power 90 workout.  I have not skipped a single workout.  I continue to do Power 90 in conjunction with Weight Watchers online for men.  I had a weigh in and measurement check yesterday, and the results I’ve had so far have really amazed me!

First, I’m down 17.1 pounds since I started!  I started out thinking optimistically I’d lose 10 pounds in the first thirty days, so this results really exceeded all my expectations!  Second, my chest, waist, and hip measurements are all down 3″ each in the last month!  I am pretty happy with these results, and while I anticipate that these losses in inches will slow down over the next 60 days, I’m pretty pleased with the results to date! Third, my strength is improving slightly.  I’m losing weight, and therefore have a daily calorie deficit, so I do have to be realistic about how much strength I will gain during this program.  Getting my muscles back in shape, and getting used to using them daily, has allowed me to pick up a decent number of reps on push ups, and add a small amount of weight and/or reps to the exercises in Power 90 however.  Finally, I feel great!  My energy levels are high, and consistent throughout the day.  I don’t get the mid afternoon “yawns” anymore.  I have consistent energy right up until when I go to bed… and when I do, I sleep better!  I’m also starting to notice that I look better.  My pants are much more loose, and I’m even putting on some old shirts (I had to buy XL golf shirts because the L were too tight).

As for nutrition, I’m continuing to do a few things.  As I’ve mentioned before, I’m doing Weight Watchers.  I really like the program because it has forced me to think about portion control, and eating better.  On my own, I’m adding in elements of the P90 and P90X nutrition concepts.  I’m in a “fat shredder” mode where my main goal is losing body fat percentage, so along with Weight Watchers, I’m trying to limit the number of carbs I’m eating.  I also limit the amount of fruit I have a week to avoid the sugar content.  I’m getting a lot of lean protein from sources like egg whites, chicken breast, lean steak, boiled ham, and non fat milk and yogurt.  I’m also eating a lot of veggies.  Salad, V8 soups, spinach in my morning egg white omelet, and more recently low sodium V8 juice.

Finally, I’m also doing Shakeology.  This is a ultra high quality meal replacement shake made by BeachBody.  I’ve been using it for about three weeks and I really like it.  The chocolate flavor is very good tasting, and it can be mixed with a lot of different things to tweak the flavor.  I don’t like the Greenberry flavor, so I’m going to order the new Tropical Fruit flavor to try it.  Overall, I can’t claim that I’ve noticed specific differences since adding Shakeology, because I’ve been doing it all along.  However, I’m using it as a meal replacement for one of the 4 or 5 times a day I’m eating.  I did some research and the overwhelming consensus I found was that people like it and think it helps results.  The nutrition content alone is a great reason to want to try it.  The only con I can see is the price, about $4 per serving.  So, if you are on a tight budget it might not be ideal.  I’m going to stick with it for the duration of Power 90.

Final thoughts – I’m doing the workouts in my finished basement, and I always use the videos.  I track each of the circuit workouts in a excel sheet so I can watch my progress and know when to add weight or reps.  I find that tracking the workouts is critical!  I want to really push myself, and I can’t hope to remember my weights and reps, so this allows me to reference where I was 48 hours earlier, and know if I need to increase.  I’m also finding that I can make the time more easily than I hoped.  I’m a busy person!  I own my own business, I have a wife, and two small kids.  If I can find the time, anybody can!  Sometimes it means I have to do the workout at a less than convenient time, but it can be done.  Also, I switched to the 3-4 level of power 90 about a week early.  I found that the level 1-2 workouts were just getting a bit to easy, especially the cardio.  They recommend switching after 30 days, but my advice is to switch when you feel ready.

Leave a Reply

